Kingdom A & S March 2019

After leaving the painting alone for a very long time I went back to finish up the few things I thought were left. HA

I came back to it and all the things that slightly bugged me before now seemed like blazing neon red flags !!!!!

So I made changes and am happier with it but still have more to do. I wanted it done easily before A & S so I could varnish it but there won’t be time for that now. I have made the following changes

  • resized the face and ears. Looks better to me now
  • added in more detail to the cuffs an collars
  • refined the detail in the Lute
  • worked on the hands
  • the original image has him sitting in a chair, I had removed it but have put it back.
  • changed the background colour. It still be glazed with brown to darken the green.

Before                                                        After

img_0036.jpg                vince-2.0.jpg

The background colour will be changed to something darker but I am happy with most of the changes at the moment. Still some softening in the face to do, and haven’t fully committed to the chair being in the picture but it helps to ground him in some way.

 

Leave a comment